Aside

Muffins, Anyone?

Since the good ole’ husband and I have been trying to eat healthy (well, I’ve been trying, he’s just along for the ride) I have to come up with other alternatives from just the plain old fashion eggs. Now, don’t get my wrong, I LOVE eggs. I can eat them every day, and do almost. The thing is – sometimes, you just want to spice it up! So with that said, let’s go onto recipe numero 2. everyone knows how to make a fritatta, right? Well, this is the closest thing you will get, but instead of an entire casserole, we are breaking it down to muffin form. NOW – you can add as much or as little as this stuff as you want. I chose to add fresh spinach, tomato, cheese, and egg. (add a little pesto in there too, and let me tell you- YUMMY!)

Ok, on to the basics.

Ingredients –

6-8 eggs

1/4-1/2 cup cheese

diced tomato

diced fresh spinach

little garlic & salt and pepper to taste

(if you want pesto, or any other type of natural ingredient – add it, go ahead, I dare you!)

 

Directions –

mix eggs with pesto, or garlic, or any other type of base.

divide and add to muffin pan all veggies – so cheese, spinach, tomato, mushrooms, onion, etc etc etc.

pour egg mixture to fill in muffin pans.

place in oven -preheated at 375º for about 20-25 minutes or until they look like muffins, done to your liking.

There you have it!! a great healthy and easy alternative. If you store in a container in the refrigerator you can heat them up in the morning in the microwave around 1 minute, and they are DELICIOUS! I eat mine with cottage cheese in the morning. Works WONDERS!

 

Hope you enjoy. Please let me know how they turned out, and what you ended up using, if any substitutes!

Leave a Reply

