Aside

Chicken Bog – IN THE CROCKPOT

Did I ever tell you that my husband is from South Carolina? If I haven’t told you that before, now you know. Some of the things that we make now that we live in Texas, I don’t think anyone has ever heard of, but you know, when the man wants something, sometimes, you just make it for him to be nice! 😉

I do like this recipe though, I could take or leave the rice – and it’s obviously NOT a completely Paleo type of recipe, but sometimes, you have to live on the wild side. This recipe is normally cooked on the stove, but today, I decided that I was going to try it in the crockpot. It was pretty simple. Actually, I may even cook it like this from now on. It’s cuts my time in half, to say the least. If you haven’t tried this South Carolina comfort food, I challenge you to take the leap. You’ll be happy you did!

Ingredients:

2-3lb chicken (boneless,skinless)

3 1/2 cups chicken broth

1 small onion

breakfast sausage links – cut in half

2 tsp italian seasoning

2 tsp salt

1 cup white rice

Directions:

Add all ingredients EXCEPT for rice to crockpot. Cook on low 6-8 hours, or on high 4-5 hours. About 30 minutes before you are ready to serve, add rice and turn crockpot to high. Stir and make sure that everything starts to thicken. If not, add some more rice. Serve immediately.

**I like to make sure my rice is cooked completely through, so just as a side note, you may want to leave the rice in the crockpot for closer to an hour!

Please let me know if you have tried this, or done something different.

Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

