Aside

A Pregnancy/Birthday Story

Mama-Blog-Monday7

 

I have a story for you. I want to share with you my pregnancy/birth story. I truly hope that this will help anyone who is pregnant, or trying to conceive, and doesn’t know what they want to do. I will caution you all to do your own research, understand that the decisions you make are between you and your partner, and for the sake of your family. Stick to those decisions as best as you can, and feel comfortable with the choices you are making.

My husband and I found out that I was pregnant in Feb, 2016. Super bowl weekend to be exact. We were overjoyed and scared at the same time. It wasn’t until I called the doctor, when I realized how much things change. The doctor won’t see me until at least 8 weeks pregnant, and apparently I was about 5 weeks. I had to wait 3 whole weeks to see a doctor. WHAT?! Those next 3 weeks went at a snails pace.

I knew from the moment I was pregnant that I wanted nature to work its course as best as it could. I was going to be delivering my child naturally. I was determined that this was how I would have it. I told my doctor the first chance I got. I researched, talked to family and friends, and researched some more.

Everything was great at our first appointment. We got an Ultrasound, heard the heartbeat, and life was forming inside of me! We made our next appointment and off we went. When I was 12/13 weeks along, we went to NC for a wedding. We ended up with a little scare that weekend as I started spotting. But guess what! ALL WAS WELL when we got home. You want to talk about being scared to death? I was so nervous for that ultrasound when we came back home, and so thankful to see that little alien   baby on the screen just moving around, hearing the heartbeat again, and knowing that all was well with our little bundle of joy! I think this was my first lesson on being a real parent.

img_1731

We found out what we were having early too. I was overjoyed to know we were having a girl, but also a little shocked. My husband was sure we were having a boy, and pretty much had me convinced too. When we found out- he was nothing short of disappointed and let me, and everyone else know it. Talk about a letdown. What else was I going to do at this point? I can’t take her back.

The 2nd trimester was a whirlwind, and things seemed to be progressing just fine. I started doing more research on natural childbirth classes, doulas, we even did some interviews. I decided that I wanted to go to the Bradley Method classes, and started talking to someone regarding taking this 12 week course. My husband agreed, although I could tell he wasn’t amused. He finally said to me that he thought he could be my “doula” and we didn’t need to hire anyone else. I bought a book by Ina May Gaskins- and off we went.

3rd trimester was here before we knew it, and I couldn’t be happier, more anxious, tired, excited, and content with our growing daughter inside of me. Feeling her move was joyous, and I was happy every doctors appointment I was at when I could see her on the screen, or listen to her heartbeat. My husband and I continued to talk about natural childbirth, and I knew that this was still the best decision for our family. I was 35 weeks pregnant when my doctor reported that I was already starting to dilate. By the time I was 37 weeks pregnant, I was already dilated to 3cm!

img_2689

37.5 Weeks pregnant, September 23rd, 2016. Friday. I went to Costco that afternoon to buy things in preparation for the weekend ahead. I was going to cook and freeze several meals- our baby girl would be here before we knew it! Her due date was October 10th, so I needed to be prepared. While returning my cart in the parking lot, I felt this huge pain in my stomach. I didn’t know if I would make it back to the car. I did, and slowly drank some water, then drove home. It wasn’t until about 4pm that I went to the bathroom and said I thought my water might have broken. Since this is our first child, I didn’t know what to expect, and wasn’t having any pains, so Seth went and ran some errands, and I took a bath. I spoke with a friend on the phone that recommended I go for a walk. So off for a walk I went. Still, no real pains or contractions in sight.

We decided that we would go on with the evening as we had plans for a football game. We piled into the car, went to the game, parked, and never made it inside. By the time we got to the gate, I was having what I knew was a  contraction, and decided we needed to call the doctor. We went to the hospital, where we were checked in, and labor began as normal. My contractions were about 4-5 minutes apart. I labored in the hospital from about 8pm until our daughter was born at 3:51 AM, September 24, 2016. No doula, No classes, just myself, my husband, the nurses, and my doctor. When I say that my husband was amazing during this process, that is an understatement. I was having all back labor, and he was by my side the whole time, putting pressure when I needed it, coaching, talking, and doing whatever he could to ease my pain. When it came time to push, the nurses rushed in, the doctor rushed in, my urge to push was immense. My husband held my hand, my doctor and the nurses continued to coach me, and within 15 minutes, our daughter was born!

img_2701

Childbirth is/was hands down the best, hardest, most thrilling, most rewarding thing I’ve ever done in my life. The decision to birth natural, non- medicated was also the best decision for myself and my family. My husband supported my decisions, and was the greatest coach I could have ever wished for. We made a good team that night, and I’m so thankful I trusted that he could be my doula. He will be hired again and again, from this point on!

I encourage all women to do your research. Follow your instincts, no matter what your decision. Read ALL the books. Talk to ALL the people you can. Surround yourself with positive reinforcements, and above all, DON’T WORRY about what anyone else thinks. You are doing this for you, and YOUR family, and for the love of God, STOP shaming other women for the decisions they made/make.

Jamie Kate- born 9.24.16 7.7lbs/ 20.5 inches long, 17 days early- just as she and God intended!

img_2713

6 thoughts on “A Pregnancy/Birthday Story

  1. Such a sweet story! I’ve had 5 babies now, but only 1 naturally. And that one only took a little over an hour to grace us with her presence, so it was kind of crazy, even though I thought I knew what to expect! They always find a way to keep me on my toes, no matter how many times I’ve already done it (and think I know everything there is to know!) Stopping by from Mama Blog Monday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

