Aside

No Video Monitor

The time is coming, you guys. I can’t even really contain my emotions right now. I’m scared, nervous, happy, sad. I really want to break down and cry when I think about it. Yes. It’s almost that time to transition our daughter into her own room! I’m sure some of you are wondering why we’ve  I’ve waited as long as I have, and some of you are thinking I should keep her in our room longer. Part of the reason why is because she is still getting up 1-2 times a night to nurse. The other part is that she is starting to really outgrow her bassinet. The biggest issue is this. We don’t have a video monitor for her room.

At first, I was all gung-ho about not having a video monitor. My husband said we didn’t need one, and I agreed. NOPE! Boy was I wrong. This is why I believe you need one. You decide for yourself.

First of all. Not having a video monitor I could see being good for an older child. Our wee little one is going on 4 months, and I feel like I need to see her. This is why. The noises she makes. I need to be able to see if this is indeed a cause for me to go into her room. With a camera, I could monitor from outside her door and determine my next steps. Second, what if she’s too quiet? You need to be able to see that too. ALSO- if you keep your child in your room for any part of time, in my opinions, you grow attached- maybe more attached than you would be if you had them in another room, or separate from you from the beginning. Maybe I’ve become a hawk-parent, or helicopter parent, and that’s fine too. For now. When all I can do is monitor the sounds, it makes it very difficult to get things accomplished when I put Jamie in her room for her naps now. I’m sure she’s fine, but I need more peace of mind. If she were older, not having a camera might be a better way to go, but right now, I just don’t think I can cope. I’m not that savage. I like modern day technology.

9f3ca3a8d0045249df454503667ce466ff60cf2987c702b3cb312a3c30893122

I do agree it would be nice to have “our” room back. I’m sure my husband would be thrilled! Maybe then, we could get into more of a “routine” too, if you will. However, I don’t know what my husband is complaining about, he sleeps just fine!

What are your thoughts on this? How did you survive without a video- monitor, or should I just break down and get one?

 

 

One thought on “No Video Monitor

  1. Alicia Pederson says:

    Do what you need to do to have peace of mind! There are pros and cons to both having and not having said monitor. She’ll be fine either way, but having modern technology for a reasonable price is a perfect argument! Knowing when to intervene and let them “cry it out” is a valid argument! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

