Aside

Cooking in the cold 

I’m not sure about any of you, but when it’s cold outside, all I want to do is cook. Why is that? Is it because I’m bored, or I have the innate sense to cook for the sake of my family? Whatever it is, I’m sure my husband isn’t going to complain one bit. When this happens, I use this time to come up with new recipes, or tweak current recipes that we like. Does anyone else do this?

So- here is what was on tap for this weekend! It started off with pizza on Friday night. You know, those good ole Costco pizzas?! They are delicious! I usually buy a pepperoni pizza and we add jalapeños and some more cheese. Delicious!

Saturday started like any normal Saturday, but I did make this crack chicken in the crock pot. I would say it was good. Different, but good. I would make it again. My husband on the other hand was not impressed. I think it needed to have some more spice or flavor to it, but talk about easy? This recipe was so easy to make, it seriously took me about 5 minutes to put it all in the crockpot! http://cookiesandcups.com/slow-cooker-crack-chicken/
I was planning on trying this recipe that I found as well, but we had steak and salad instead- and it was equally as good I’m sure. I don’t know if you all have ever shopped at Aldi, but I’m here to tell you that it’s one of my favorite places to shop. I can usually find some really good deals on meat and veggies too! With that said, I’ve been buying these small steaks wrapped in bacon. They are easy to prepare and makes for a quick, healthy dinner! Also, as another plug for Aldi- Who is not paying me by any means to support or talk about their store, but if you are a wine drinker, as I am, they have their “Winking Owl” bottles of wine for $2.89 a bottle! Talk about a deal?! If there is no other reason to shop there, but for cheap wine, that’s reason enough for me!

I was going to try this recipe, but I ran out of time. It looks really tasty, so I thought I would share this one as well. If you have tried it, and like to dislike it, please let me know!

http://getinmybelly.com/slow-cooker-cajun-chicken-alfredo/
 

2 thoughts on “Cooking in the cold 

  1. crack chicken! yum! and hooray for slow cookers! lucky for me, bill will eat just about anything, but unlucky for me, he never tells me what he WANTS to eat. except fried chicken. it’s always fried chicken. 🙂 –adria

    Like

Leave a Reply

