Aside

*NEW* Toy Box!

It’s been a while. To say the least, we’ve been busy. We’ve been undergoing a lot of changes here lately, and life have been HECTIC! That’s a positive thing though, right? Change is good, right? YES! We like change around our house, but sometimes that means we have to take a step back from the other things we enjoy doing, and figure out one stop before we move on to the next.

Thus, here we are again! Jamie is now 10 months old, crawling, babbling, eating solid foods, pulling herself up and cruising furniture, and fighting every nap she possibly can! I wouldn’t trade it for the world, though. She is a blessing to our little family, and I truthfully could not think of a better job to have. Being her mom is such a wonderful experience. I truly am lucky God blessed me with the joy of motherhood.

Around our house, I try to repurpose things, or sell them if we can’t find another spot of them. With that said, I had this old hamper in my closet for the longest time, and I didn’t know exactly what to do with it. I thought I might use it in Jamie’s room eventually, but until then, It just sat in my closet, collecting bags, shoes, and whatever else I needed to throw in there for the time being. Needless to say, it was ON MY NERVES!

Well, we’ve transitioned my office, to also be a playroom. It’s nice because I am able to work on the computer and Jamie can play. It’s been a positive transition so far, and I only hope that it continues on this way. While making this transition though, all of the toys were just thrown here and there on the floor, with no rhyme or reason. That brings me to my new idea. Why don’t I use that old hamper and make it into a toy holder! It was so easy, it cost around $8.00, and I’m really happy with the outcome!



What I used

*

*

*

  1. Old hamper
  2. Burlap (bought at Wal-Mart, 2 rolls for about $8.00)
  3. Hot Glue
  4. Scissors

What I did:

We used the hot glue gun for adhesive for the burlap, and simply wrapped the burlap around the hamper! I also threw in an old bath towel that I needed to throw away and put it on the bottom of the hamper. That’s really just an option, whether you want to or not.

Seriously! It was that easy! I didn’t over think this, as I’m very capable of doing, and really, I think it turned out great for what we are going to use it for! In the future, I can use it in Jamie’s room too, if we want! Also, right now it’s perfect for her because she’s going to pull herself up on it, and if she falls, it won’t hurt her. DOUBLE WIN!

What do you think? What kind of things have you repurposed that have been really easy too? I would love to hear of more ideas for future projects!

Enjoy!

box

 

Leave a Reply

